COVID-19

In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic has influenced human life very quickly and globally to an enormous extent. The discussion about appropriate actions to control it has stimulated me to perform own calculations on base of the SEIR model.

The SEIR model

The SEIR model (https://en.wikipedia.org /wiki/Compartmental_models_in_ epidemiology#The_SEIR_model) is a mathematical model for the description of epidemics. It is able to realistically reproduce the course of an epidemic.

The letters SEIR stand for a total of four fractions,

of states of individuals in the total population with

S + E + I + R = 1.

These states can be run through sequentially. The time derivatives of these quantities are described by

S' = -βSI,

E' = βSI - aE,

I' = aE - γI,

and

R' = γI.

These four equations represent a system of ordinary differential equations, which can be solved numerically as an initial value problem e.g. using Runge-Kutta methods (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runge–Kutta_methods). The parameters of the system are the three rates

The important basic reproduction number R0 (https://en.wikipedia.org /wiki/Basic_reproduction_number) indicates how many individuals would be infected by an infectious person on average, if everyone else was not yet infected (S = 1). In the framework of the SEIR model it is given by the ratio of the two controllable rates:

R0 = β / γ.

This relation results from the condition that the time derivative of the total part of infected (E + I) vanishes at the climax of the epidemic:

E' + I' = βSI - γI = 0,

βS / γ = Reff = 1

with the effective reproduction number

Reff = R0S,

which at this point is exactly 1 (in the average then an infectious person infects exactly one person). For COVID-19, the basic reproduction number is estimated to be in the range from 2.4 to 3.3.

For very large rates a and E = 0 the SEIR model transform to the simpler SIR model.

Model calculations

Here first of all the results of a calculation for uncontrolled parameters are shown (parameters and initial values as used in the calculation on https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/SEIR-Modell):

S, E, I, and R for unchanged parameters

Figure 1: Resulting fractions in dependence of time t in days with R0 = 2.4, γ = 1/3 d-1, β = γR0 = 0.8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = E(t = 0) = 4.8077·10-4, and I0 = I(t = 0) = 1.2019·10-4. The maximum in E + I is obtained at a time when S = 1 / R0 and Reff = 1, respectively. The maxima in E and I, however, are obtained a little earlier and later, respectively.

Control of parameters

For control of an epidemic it is attempted to reduce the basic reproduction number R0 = β / γ. This can be achieved by either reducing the infection rate β (e.g. by restriction of contacts and improvement of hygiene) or by increasing the rate γ (by means of large numbers of infection tests and prompt isolation of infectious).

It is interesting to compare the effect of an exclusive reduction of β with that of an exclusive increase of γ. For this purpose in the following results of appropriate calculations are shown:

For the range of time 0 ≤ t ≤ t1 the parameters β = β0 and γ = γ0, respectively, are used; for t1 ≤ t ≤ t2 the parameters β = β1 and γ = γ1, respectively, and for t ≥ t2 again the parameters β = β0 and γ = γ0, respectively.

I for decreased values of the infection rate for times
    between t1 and t2

Figure 2: Resulting fraction I of infectious in dependence on the time t in days with R0 = 2.4, γ0 = 1/3 d-1, β0 = 0.8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = 4.8077·10-4, and I0 = 1.2019·10-4. In the range t1 ≤ t ≤ t2, β is decreased by a factor of 3/5 (corresponding to R0 = 1.44) and by a factor of 1/3 (corresponding to R0 = 0.8), respectively. For comparison, the red curve shows the result for an unchanged parameter.

I for increased values of the rate of recovery
    for times between t1 and t2

Figure 3: Resulting fraction I of infectious in dependence of time t in days with R0 = 2.4, γ0 = 1/3 d-1, β0 = 0.8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = 4.8077·10-4 and I0 = 1.2019·10-4. In the range t1 ≤ t ≤ t2, γ is increased by a factor of 5/3 (corresponding to R0 = 1.44) and a factor of 3 (corresponding to R0 = 0.8), respectively. For comparison, the red curve shows the result for an unchanged parameter.

A comparison of the figures shows that an exclusive increase of the rate γ by means of massive testing for infection and prompt isolation of infectious (Figure 3) results in a faster decrease of I in comparison to a corresponding exclusive decrease of the infection rate (Figure 2), at least in the framework of the SEIR model with the parameters chosen here. In Figure 2 the number of infectious even increases immediately after t = t1 for some time.

In both cases one has to expect of a second epidemic wave, if, for a significant reduction of R0 by a factor of 1/3 (blue curves), the actions are canceled completely to early (here after 90 days).

It should be kept in mind, that the SEIR model certainly cannot describe exactly real epidemics. In particular, the implicit assumption of exponential distributions of the transition times in this model is questionable.

Online calculator

You can perform own calculations with this online calculator for the SEIR model, implemented in JavaScript. First the parameters are set to that used for Figure 1. The button "Calculate" is used to apply changes of their values in the entry fields for recalculation of the diagram.

The results can be exported as a SVG graphic and as a CSV file. The corresponding buttons lead to the display of dialogs, their content can be used by copy (usually Ctrl+A and Ctrl+C) and paste.

COVID-19

Im Jahr 2020 hat die COVID-19-Pandemie sehr schnell und global das menschliche Leben in einem enormen Ausmaß beeinflusst. Die Diskussion über geeignete Maßnahmen zu ihrer Bekämpfung hat mich zu eigenen Berechnungen auf der Basis des SEIR-Modells angeregt.

Das SEIR-Modell

Ein mathematisches Modell zur Beschreibung von Epidemien stellt das SEIR-Modell (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/SEIR-Modell) dar. Es ist in der Lage, den zeitlichen Verlauf einer Epidemie realistisch wiederzugeben.

Die Buchstaben SEIR stehen hier für insgesamt vier Anteile

von Zuständen der Individuen an der Gesamtbevölkerung mit

S + E + I + R = 1.

Diese Zustände können nacheinander durchlaufen werden. Die zeitlichen Ableitungen dieser Größen werden beschrieben durch

S' = -βSI,

E' = βSI - aE,

I' = aE - γI,

und

R' = γI.

Diese vier Gleichungen stellen ein System von gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungen dar, das numerisch als Anfangswertproblem z. B. mittels des Runge-Kutta-Verfahrens (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runge-Kutta-Verfahren) gelöst werden kann. Die Parameter des Systems sind die drei Raten

Die wichtige Basisreproduktionszahl R0 (https://de.wikipedia.org /wiki/Basisreproduktionszahl) gibt an, wieviel Individuen im Mittel von einem Infektiösen angesteckt würden, wenn alle anderen noch nicht infiziert wären (S = 1). Im Rahmen des SEIR-Modells ist sie durch das Verhältnis der beiden beeinflussbaren Raten gegeben:

R0 = β / γ.

Dieser Zusammenhang ergibt sich aus der Bedingung, dass am Höhepunkt der Epidemie die zeitliche Ableitung des gesamten Anteils der Infizierten (E + I) verschwindet:

E' + I' = βSI - γI = 0,

βS / γ = Reff = 1

mit der effektiven Reproduktionszahl

Reff = R0S,

die am Höhepunkt gerade den Wert 1 annimmt (im Mittel wird dann genau ein Individuum von einem Infektiösen angesteckt). Für COVID-19 wird die Basisreproduktionszahl R0 auf 2,4 bis 3,3 geschätzt.

Für sehr große Raten a und E = 0 geht das SEIR-Modell in das einfachere SIR-Modell über.

Beispielrechnungen

Hier zunächst die Resultate einer Rechnung für unbeeinflusste Parameter (Parameter und Anfangswerte wie in der Rechnung auf https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/SEIR-Modell):

S, E, I und R für unveränderte Parameter

Abbildung 1: Resultierende Anteile als Funktion der Zeit t in Tagen mit R0 = 2,4, γ = 1/3 d-1, β = γR0 = 0,8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = E(t = 0) = 4,8077·10-4 und I0 = I(t = 0) = 1,2019·10-4. Das Maximum von E + I wird zu der Zeit erreicht, wenn S = 1 / R0 beziehungsweise Reff = 1 wird. Die Maxima von E und I dagegen liegen bei etwas kürzeren beziehungsweise längeren Zeiten.

Beeinflussung der Parameter

Zur Bekämpfung einer Epidemie wird versucht, die Basisreproduktionszahl R0 = β / γ zu verkleinern. Dies kann sowohl durch eine Verringerung der Übertragungsrate β (z. B. durch Kontakteinschränkungen und Hygienemaßnahmen) als auch durch eine Erhöhung der Rate γ (durch Massentests auf Infektion und zeitnahe Isolation der Infektiösen) erreicht werden.

Interessant ist die Frage, wie unterschiedlich die ausschließliche Verringerung von β und die ausschließliche Erhöhung von γ wirken. Dazu sind im folgenden die Resultate von entsprechenden Rechnungen gezeigt:

Für den Zeitraum 0 ≤ tt1 werden die Parameter β = β0 beziehungsweise γ = γ0 benutzt; für den Zeitraum t1 ≤ t < t2 die Parameter β = β1 beziehungsweise γ = γ1 und für t ≥ t2 wieder die Parameter β = β0 beziehungsweise γ = γ0.

I für zwischen t1 und t2 verringerte Werte der
    Übertragungsrate

Abbildung 2: Resultierender Anteil I der Infektiösen als Funktion der Zeit t in Tagen mit R0 = 2,4, γ0 = 1/3 d-1, β0 = 0,8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = 4,8077·10-4 und I0 = 1,2019·10-4. Im Zeitraum t1 ≤ t < t2 wird β um den Faktor 3/5 (entspricht R0 = 1,44) beziehungsweise um den Faktor 1/3 (entspricht R0 = 0,8) verringert. Zum Vergleich zeigt die rote Kurve das Verhalten bei unverändertem Parameter.

I für zwischen t1 und t2 erhöhte Werte der
    Genesungsrate

Abbildung 3: Resultierender Anteil I der Infektiösen als Funktion der Zeit t in Tagen mit R0 = 2,4, γ0 = 1/3 d-1, β0 = 0,8 d-1, a = 1/5.5 d-1, E0 = 4,8077·10-4 und I0 = 1,2019·10-4. Im Zeitraum t1 ≤ t < t2 wird γ um den Faktor 5/3 (entspricht R0 = 1,44) beziehungsweise um den Faktor 3 (entspricht R0 = 0,8) erhöht. Zum Vergleich zeigt die rote Kurve das Verhalten bei unverändertem Parameter.

Der Vergleich der Abbildungen zeigt, dass eine Erhöhung der Rate γ durch Massentests auf Infektion und zeitnahe Isolation der Infektiösen (Abbildung 3) zu einer schnelleren Abnahme von I als bei entsprechender Verringerung der Übertragungsrate (Abbildung 2) führt (zumindest im Rahmen des SEIR-Modells mit den hier gewählten Parametern). In Abbildung 2 steigt zunächst direkt nach t = t1 die Zahl der Infektiösen sogar an.

In beiden Fällen muss mit einer erneuten Epidemiewelle gerechnet werden, wenn bei deutlicher Verringerung von R0 um den Faktor 1/3 (blaue Kurven) zu früh (hier nach 90 Tagen) die Maßnahmen wieder vollständig zurückgenommen werden.

Es sollte nicht außer acht gelassen werden, dass das SEIR-Modell reale Epidemien sicher nicht exakt beschreiben kann. So ist fraglich, ob die Verteilung der charakteristischen Übergangszeiten eine exponentielle ist wie in diesem Modell implizit angenommen.

Online-Rechner

Eigene Rechnungen können Sie mit diesem in JavaScript geschriebenen Online-Rechner für das SEIR-Modell durchführen. Die Parameter sind dabei zunächst gleich denen der Rechnung zu Abbildung 1; mit dem Knopf "Berechnen" werden Änderungen der Werte in den Eingabefeldern übernommen und die Grafik neu berechnet.

Die Resultate können als SVG-Grafik und als CSV-Datei exportiert werden. Die entsprechenden Knöpfe führen zur Anzeige von Fenstern, deren Inhalt per Copy (gewöhnlich Strg+A und Strg+C) und Paste kopiert werden können.